Mad Men

I didn’t watch Mad Men. The setting was the worst time of my life and everything about the setting put me back there. Mom & Dad drank a lot & fought sometimes. We’d wake up & cry outside their door. 

Mom married her divorced boss. She was his secretary. He was an accountant for an engineer. We lived just outside the city. 

My half sister used to baby sit us

Mom stayed at home, was always dressed up, wore heels, and had teas on Tuesday. She stayed fit. 

Dad loved us. I used to watch the window for him to come home. He wore what’s now called a “wife beater” – the only flaw I’ve seen in the movie. We’d watch him shave using that badger brush.

We had the plastic & the colors. Mom still has them. They don’t wear out.

In 1961 Dad died of Seconal & alcohol – they say on purpose.  That put Mom in a bind. She went to school & graduated with an A or near A average- all while bombed. She had to redo most of it after she married her much older professor and he got another job in another city right before she graduated. Her credits didn’t transfer. She got her masters and then retired.
While she was at school we met an interesting bunch of bachelors and sitters. We changed schools every year. 

The less said about my stepdad the better. Let’s just say when they got married we were safely into the 70s.

Meanwhile the crises of that time did not go unnoticed. 

Yet there’s more to Mad Men.  Binge watching was the way to go. The characters & themes could be seen. They were all strange to me as I was a protected child. I’m not sure if they were protecting us on purpose or just carrying on the family tradition of keeping things from the kids. 

Decades later I worked in partnerships as a partner & as an employee. Some things never change. Don Draper was almost a canvas or anchor for the rest of the characters. Every group or competitor had every guy in that show. They were all so well done.

Mom is single and had bunions. She still works at 81. She was raised on a poor farm. Dad has become a positive force in my life although as a ghost. I’ve stopped looking for replacements. The 70s allowed us to throw away the harmful scripts of that time.

The best scene is the open. It’s the theme of the show. I applaud whoever ignored 9/11 to use it. 

There’s a comic element that may look different to some of us. Avocado!! Exes. Moms competing with daughters and new wives. Women who can’t be stopped despite the disrespect & who find a way to channel ambition. 

It’s a good show, maybe not a great show for me, but it’s greater than I thought. Therapy & meds make the triggers more fun. Binge watching was the way to go. 

Leave a Reply

